Album Review: Front Porch Step – Aware

Front Porch Step is a project by Jake Mcelfresh.

His songs are autobiographical and as raw and honest as you can get. His debut album ‘Aware’ is a story about having his heart broken, the album consists of his guitar and his poetic voice.

His soulful voice takes you on a journey throughout this album and the opening track Angels and Demons which is a great opener as it begins the story he tells on this album. The lyrics in Aware are honest and instantly make you fall in love with the album and you feel as though you need to listen to it all. Drown is the most notable song on the album purely because of the rawness and brutality of the lyrics. ‘how dare you say you still miss me with his spit still on your tongue’.

If I Tremble is the song everyone wants written about them. It’s is extremely obvious in this song how much he loves a girl and it’s this song that makes it all the more emotional as you figure out how much his experience hurt him and you can’t help but empathize with him. ‘And if I tremble at the sight of you, it’s not because I’m cold / It’s because I’m staring at the girl I want to love me when I’m old / I swear with all my heart; every word I write for you is true / And I won’t hesitate to give my life for you.’

The last 2 songs, The Day You Took The Good Away and I Won’t Say I’m Okay are about a different type of heart break – which to FPS is the loss of his grandmother. These songs are enough to make a grown man cry and there is nothing more or less I can sat about these songs.

This album is the pinnacle for honesty and some may find that a bad thing as some of the lyrics may be too much to handle but what more do you want from music? As a singer/songwriter you want to engage with those listening and FPS does that perfectly. How else are you meant to get such a strong following when you’re not totally honest?
This is a flawless album. It’s powerful, honest, emotional, personal, simple relatable, passionate and makes you feel connected to not only Jake but everyone else who has listened to this record.

Listen to: Private Fears in Public Places and Island of the Misfit Boy

Buy it here

One thought on “Album Review: Front Porch Step – Aware

Leave a Reply

