Songs For When You’re Not Feeling Good Enough

– As I’ve been getting a lot of attention on this post, I thought I’d make a spotify playlist of the songs mentioned (and add more to it) so here it is

 

A lot of us have bad days and we all have different reasons for our bad day; heartbreak/low self esteem/bullying/social problems/family problems etc and I’m sure we all have different ways to cope during these times. I’ve struggled with depression and self harm and the one thing that got me through everything was music. I was sad because of a lot of things and funnily enough there was a song that helped me for every time I was bothered, no matter how pathetic the reason.

The great thing about music is that thousands of other people listen to that exact same song and are probably going through similar problems and I don’t know about you, but I find that really comforting knowing I’m not alone. So I am going to let you know what songs help me during these times and I hope they’ll help some of you.

Simple Plan – I’m Just A Kid basically defines my whole life and was my anthem when I was like 12 years old. But the song by Simple Plan that really helped me was Welcome To My Life I don’t think I’ll ever connect to a song more than this. It describes, in a very raw way, different types of problems and how ‘you don’t know what it’s like to be like me’.  It’s a song that explains how you’re feeling better than you ever could. Save You is the song that you’re glad you heard because in a way it does save you. The lyrics are words that you want and need to be said to you and even though it’s just some Canadian bloke singing. The lyrics in This Song Saved My Life were created by fans, Simple Plan asked fans what their music mean to them and they put it into a song which makes this song so so special. It is such a personal song explaining everyone’s reasons for listening to music and what they’ve got out of it and it gives you hope that you can overcome whatever problem you’re having. Simple Plan are a band that make you understand more about yourself and your problems and teach you that there’s nothing to worry about and that we’re all going through the same things. Please please, if you don’t listen to anything else I advice just listen to these guys! Also listen to; Perfect and Untitled

Good Charlotte – Hold On.  I spoke about this song in a post the other week, check it out. This song made me put down the blade and made me not even think about killing myself. The video is so powerful and the lyrics just really hit home.

Jack’s Mannequin – Swim is a song that basically tells you to just get the hell on with your life and sometimes that’s just what you need. The lyric ‘swim for the music that saves you when you’re not so sure you’ll survive’  makes me want to burst into tears just reading it. Andrew McMahon knows how important music is to people and that passion is shown in his songs. He has gone through a lot of crap in his life and if this man can overcome cancer then I’m sure we can face whatever it is we’re dealing with. The lyrics are all so motivational in the song you just want them tattooed over your body and you want to overcome your problems just so you can owe it to this song and this amazing man. Just keep you head above, swim. 

Kodaline – All My Friends (LCD Soundsystem cover) Kodaline really made this song their own by stripping it all and focusing on the lyrics. It’s a song that can be interpreted differently to everyone (as is every song). To me the song is about enjoying your times with your friends but then growing up and everyone else moving on and you not and eventually never talking to them again which is something I can really relate to.

Pierce The Veil – are notorious for making personal songs. They have a song to do with a close friend having cancer and one dedicated to a fan who took her own life. Bulls In The Bronx has a stand out lyric to me, ‘so darling close your eyes, ’cause you’re about to miss everything’, It stands out because it reminds me that I don’t want to miss out on everything. I don’t want to miss out on hearing this band play live, or miss out on seeing the world, or miss eating chocolate ice-cream at 2 am. I don’t want to miss out on anything, ‘You’re the only thing that’s keeping me alive’ is also a stand out lyric because music really is keeping me alive. Not even just these songs, I wake up everyday wanting to hear new music and hearing how much passion people are putting in to their music and I want to hear crappy pop music I don’t want there ever to be a day where I don’t appreciate music. Hold on til May is one of PTV’s most notable and helpful songs and it’s probably because of the lyrics ‘… darling, you’ll be okay…’ For some reason, when a band tell you it’ll be okay you gain hope and there’s nothing wrong with that.

I could honestly write paragraphs about every single song on this playlist but I’ll leave it there and list the rest.

The rest may not be lyrically helpful but they calm you down and The Pretender is there for you to scream and get all your anger out. Some are there so you know you’re not alone and you’r not the only one going through these problems. There is always a way to get better and music will definitely help you. 

All The Luck in the World – Never

All Time Low – Therapy

Bon Iver – Skinny Love

Foo Fighters – Best of You & The Pretender

Front Porch Step – Island of the Misfit Boy

Mayday Parade – So Far Away

Oasis – Champagne Supernova

Real Friends – I’ve Given Up On You

The Story So Far – Navy Blue, Clairvoyant & Roam

Let me know if there’s any songs that you listen to to make you feel better or if you’ve checked any of these out and have liked them 🙂

Leave a Reply

